top of page

So and So

Well, November was our last full month in Italy. It seems the time has flown past but when I think back to January 2017, it seems like such a long time ago. Nathan and I have spent a lot of time this month preparing things to leave. I'm currently sitting in our living room which is a MESS with suitcases pulled out, clean clothes tossed in, a donate pile, and a things to do before we leave list. For me, this has been a very hard season. What do you tell people when they ask, are you ready to go home? I love the way some of my students put it. They say, "so and so?"

Students

The two most consuming parts of our month have been our students and the famous Thanksgiving Party. Lessons with our students are going well. I'll post some pictures below of some of them at our party. I wish I had more, but taking pictures during a lesson is just weird. I think all of our students will miss us dearly. Some of them are starting to bring us going-away gifts or Christmas gifts. Italians are some of the most giving people I know! We've had fresh olive oil brought to us along with chocolate cake, chocolate candies, new PJs, and an incense kit from Oman! They are always so thoughtful. We have a few gifts up our sleeves to give out next week too ;)

Roma

Nathan and I traveled to Rome for 24 hours to see Jeff and Suzanne! We were so excited to hear that they were coming to Italy. Sadly, they couldn't make it to Florence so we made the trip to Rome instead. You won't hear us complaining. Rome is HUGE and there is always something new to see. We enjoyed being with the Rome congregation on Sunday morning. What an interesting experience! I think Jeff got to use his Portuguese to talk to a few different people. It's always cool getting to exchange in conversation in a common language! We had a great lunch and dinner together and in between we went to the Catacombs of Priscilla and the Capuchin Museum (Weird. If you don't like unusual things, don't go looking that up!) We are so thankful for any time we get to spend with friends who end up in Italy, but especially people like Jeff and Suzanne who can give us advice and guide us in the right direction as we are about to move back. AND if you are ever at their house, make sure to ask to see her Roman salt and pepper shakers. They are pretty snazzy if you ask me ;)

Thanksgiving

Our Party! Thanksgiving is always a hit. It's our biggest party of the year! I believe we had around 55-60 guests and we were prepared for more. The directors, Zac and Aleece, Nathan, and I sat down at the beginning of November and divided up the typical Thanksgiving meal list. I tell you, we conquered the list! Put four people in charge of a meal that our moms usually make, and you'd think something would go wrong. Nope. We cooked for dayyyyyyyys and did a great job. Might I add, that some things are very difficult to make because you can hardly find the same ingredients here, but we pulled it off wonderfully! Mom, here's your shout out! Everyone LOVED your grandma's dressing recipe. Rosa even asked for it and when she asks for a recipe, I feel so honored!

I absolutely love the time to be thankful for what we have. It's so wonderful that our students and friends gather around and bring their loved ones for a night of laughter. Sometimes we don't even know who is at the party! Zac walked by and said, "I don't know any of those people sitting on the sofa." I explained how two of my students brought 4 guests and they were all just cackling at each other in the living room. Isn't that the most beautiful thing? Sitting around any size table with friends and family you love talking about the important things in life, or even the stupid ones. I think so! The day wasn't important. Neither was the food. Or the location of the party. What was important was the people that came to share time together.

Ciao for now!

I guess that is all for now! Next time I write a blog post, I won't be sitting in Italy. I hope to update you all in December about our last two weeks in Italy and our transition back to the USA. Be patient though! I want to rest in the season of Jesus birth and enjoy time with loved ones we've missed dearly! So, if you don't see a blog in your inbox on December 31st, don't panic! It will come.

We love you all dearly and hope to see each of you very very soon.

Please continue in prayer for our team, our church, and our community.

Peace and Blessings,

Ashley


NATHAN & ASHLEY

STAY IN THE LOOP

Receive a heads up when things are happening in Italy!

WE NEED YOUR HELP

RECENT POSTS

Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples.

1 Chronicles 16:24 

bottom of page