top of page

Kingdom-minded Goals

Nathan and I have had a very slow month which has been a huge blessing. I'm coming to realize that a time like this might not happen for a while! I've gotten to go at my own pace doing things I love like reading books,studying the Bible, learning new programs on the computers, working on our resumes, and lesson planning. It's been a relaxing couple of weeks, but very productive! It's given me a lot of time to sit and ponder about the important things in life as well. I've been thinking quite a bit how our time here is quickly coming to a close. I obviously have mixed feelings about leaving Italy here and going back to the States.

No matter how I feel, it is coming. I have been trying to imagine what the next stage will be! We trust in the Lord to provide for us, so it's very exciting to think about. One thing I know for sure is to have an everyday mission. Every follower of Jesus has a mission and should have intentions and goals too! I don't know what that will look like for us when we return, but we will learn how we will make an impact at home, who we will partner with, and how we will achieve our Kingdom-minded goals. I challenge you to think about the mission you're living. Are you making everyday intentional? How has the Lord made you who you are to use you where you are? You and I have a purpose. Let us make sure we are aiming at the goal.

Friends, Friends, Friends

This month has been full of friends, surprisingly! Most of our students are finally making the journey back into the city, but some never left at all! I was able to go get some gelato with one of my students not too long ago. She has the cutest little girl that I got to play ball with in one of the piazzas (a large open space). She wasn't so sure of me as first but she came around.

We also had the opportunity to share a meal and talk with a family who is probably going to move to Italy with the intention of spreading the Word. Pray for them! They are sweet and genuine. They've had a rough year so far, so them moving to Italy by the end of the year to start working is the goal!

Nathan and I got together with our friend, Emily, who just moved back to Florence from Ireland. We are excited to have her back with us. She went through the Avanti Italia program a couple years ago, so she always has good advice for us with any problem we have. She took us to a restaurant that has 3 euro pizzas on Monday nights! They were huge and fantastic. We are always looking for a good deal. Thanks Emily!

One of my students that I haven't seen this month keeps texting me pictures of the beach!!! They are beautiful! I'm used to the white sand beaches of Florida, but Italy! Italy has some gorgeous beaches!!! My student took a trip down south with some of her friends. They were going to go to a different beach each day! I think she had a lot of fun and I'm looking forward to hearing about it when classes start in a week and a half.

As you know, Rosa cooks lunch for us Monday, Wednesday, and Friday every week. She usually needs at least one person in the kitchen helping her. Since it is just Nathan and I at the Bible School right now, we've been trading off days in the kitchen. It has been fun! I've learned how to make different foods with her. We always have a good time. She laughs at me quite a bit when I use the wrong word in Italian. (She doesn't speak English... but she knows more than she lets on too.) The other day, I definitely used the word for hotel instead of tree.. She knew what I meant though!!!

Nathan and I visited camp several times! We weren't able to be there all week because we had to hold down the fort at the Bible School with George, but we were able to make the drive up several times to participate in sports, good conversations, and the final award and presentation night! I know the kids aging from 6 to 17 had a great time and didn't want to leave.

Nathan and I have gotten to see our two sets of couple friends quite a lot this month. We've visited with Meredith and James in Prato, and Caleigh and Richard are spending a week with us at the Bible School right now. Seeing all of them is always an encouragement. We are actually getting together for dinner tonight!!! Life around the table with friends is well spent, I think!

I believe that is all for this month. Please be praying for our team, our church, and our community. We start classes soon! So be on the look out at the end of September to read about the start of classes and a trip that I'm very very excited for!

Peace and Blessings friends,

-Ashley


NATHAN & ASHLEY

STAY IN THE LOOP

Receive a heads up when things are happening in Italy!

WE NEED YOUR HELP

RECENT POSTS

Declare his glory among the nations, his marvelous deeds among all peoples.

1 Chronicles 16:24 

bottom of page